Signpostings

Relationships in a World of Individualism

  • rWorld

    The rWorld is about more than Dale Kuehne's book Sex and the iWorld.
    The rWorld is a New England based, non-profit (in formation), that is composed of a growing number of people and organizations from many faith and ideological backgrounds worldwide. We believe that much of the fulfillment for which women and men are looking can be found by enhancing the quality of our relationships. While the individual freedom we enjoy in the West is a gift, the love and intimacy for which humans yearn will not be found in self-serving materialism or hedonism, but in a variety of healthy relationships.

    Contact us if you'd like get involved:
    scr.im/rwld

  • Dale Kuehne

    Sex & the iWorld

    Professor of Politics and The Richard L. Bready Chair for Ethics, Economics, and the Common Good at Saint Anselm College, Manchester, NH.

    In this blog I'm highlighting signposts of the world in which we presently reside as a means of helping promote a civil, and meaningful dialogue about what kind of world in which we wish to live. I am particularly interested in exploring how might we reconcile the individual good and the common good, and where reconciliation isn’t possible, which should take precedence and why.

    I also blog at Sharewik.com

    [Content Caution]

Welcome to Our (Politically Correct) Nightmare

Posted by Dale Kuehne on June 6, 2015

Welcome to our politically correct nightmare.

If a “liberal” Professor feels increasingly fearful about challenging students to think, imagine how his students feel.

I feel increasingly isolated in the academy given what I profess about the meaning of love, sex, marriage and identity but I believe that for the most part I get a pass because of the perception I am old and relatively harmless.

But I have an increasing number of students who come to me each semester and make me swear to never tell anyone what they have written in their term papers lest their considered opinions compromise their professional life.

Really. Truly.

And they are right to be concerned.

Not unlike the Harvard Professor who told me last year she lives in fear that anyone will discover a Facebook post she once wrote about Same-Sex Marriage.

Welcome to our nightmare.

Our politically correct nightmare.

https://www.vox.com/2015/6/3/8706323/college-professor-afraid

Welcome to my nightmare
I think you’re gonna like it
I think you’re gonna feel you belong

A nocturnal vacation
A necessary sedation
You wanna feel at home ’cause you belong

Welcome to my breakdown
I hope I didn’t scare you
That’s just the way we are when we come down!

We sweat and laugh and scream here
‘Cause life is just a dream here
You know inside you feel right at home here

Welcome to my breakdown
You’re welcome to my nightmare,

Welcome to my nightmare
I think you’re gonna like it
I think you’re gonna feel you belong

We sweat and laugh and scream here
‘Cause life is just a dream here
You know inside you feel right at home here

Welcome to my nightmare
Welcome to my breakdown


Welcome To My Nightmare by Alice Cooper and Dick Nelson from Welcome to my Nightmare (1975)

Leave a Reply

 
