Signpostings

Relationships in a World of Individualism

  • rWorld

    The rWorld is about more than Dale Kuehne's book Sex and the iWorld.
    The rWorld is a New England based, non-profit (in formation), that is composed of a growing number of people and organizations from many faith and ideological backgrounds worldwide. We believe that much of the fulfillment for which women and men are looking can be found by enhancing the quality of our relationships. While the individual freedom we enjoy in the West is a gift, the love and intimacy for which humans yearn will not be found in self-serving materialism or hedonism, but in a variety of healthy relationships.

    Contact us if you'd like get involved:
    scr.im/rwld

  • Dale Kuehne

    Sex & the iWorld

    Professor of Politics and The Richard L. Bready Chair for Ethics, Economics, and the Common Good at Saint Anselm College, Manchester, NH.

    In this blog I'm highlighting signposts of the world in which we presently reside as a means of helping promote a civil, and meaningful dialogue about what kind of world in which we wish to live. I am particularly interested in exploring how might we reconcile the individual good and the common good, and where reconciliation isn’t possible, which should take precedence and why.

    I also blog at Sharewik.com

    [Content Caution]

The NRA, President Obama, and School Violence: An Adventure in Missing the Point

Posted by Dale Kuehne on January 23, 2013

Our current debate between the NRA and President Obama about how to curb gun violence in America is missing the point. In my latest sharewik blog I explain what the point isn’t and what it is.

http://stories.sharewik.com/blogs/item/guns-and-curbing-school-violence-an-adventure-in-missing-the-point

Dueling Lyrics: Justin Moore vs. Green Day

Guns by Justin Moore from Outlaws Like Me (2011)

I started out with a.410 then moved to a.20 gauge.
Every squirrel and rabbit in Dallas county knew my name
I sat on the stand with PawPaw from the time I was three years old
When I was eight I used a muzzle loader to kill my first doe
These days I go down to Wal-Mart and they set ’em in the back
Some people wanna take ’em away why don’t you go bust them boys that sellin
Crack

Guns, whether Remingtons and Glocks
Come on man it ain’t like I’m a slingin ’em on the block
I’m gunna tell you once and listen son
As long as I’m alive and breathin
You won’t take my guns

If there ever was a time we need ’em
I’d say it be today
When we’re lettin them terrorists watch cable TV and walk out of Guantanamo
Bay
I just try to do the right thing and raise my family in this land
Treatin me like you want to be treated and that’s what I call a man
If we don’t have ’em, what do we do
Tell me where we gunna go
Somebody breaks into my house
I’m gunna need my Colt.44

Guns, whether Remingtons and Glocks
Come on man it, ain’t like I’m a slingin ’em on the block
I’m gunna tell you once and listen son
As long as I’m alive and breathin
You wont take my guns

Listen

Guns, whether Remingtons or Glocks
Come on man, it ain’t like I’m a slingin ’em on the block
I’m gunna tell you once and listen son
As long as I’m alive and breathin
And I’m still breathin
You wont take my guns

No, you can take ’em from me when you take ’em from my grandpa and my daddy

21 Guns by Green Day from 21st Century Breakdown (2009)

Do you know what’s worth fighting for?
When it’s not worth dying for?
Does it take your breath away and you feel yourself suffocating?
Does the pain weigh out the pride?
And you look for a place to hide?
Did someone break your heart inside,you’re in ruins

One, 21 Guns
Lay down your arms
Give up the fight
One, 21 Guns
Throw up your arms into the sky
You and I …

When you’re at the end of the road
And you lost all sense of control
And your thoughts have taken their toll
When your mind breaks the spirit of your soul
Your faith walks on broken glass and the hangover doesn’t pass
Nothing’s ever built to last, you’re in ruins

One, 21 Guns
Lay down your arms
Give up the fight
One, 21 Guns
Throw up your arms into the sky
You and I …

Did you try to live on your own?
When you burned down the house and home?
Did you stand too close to the fire?
Like a liar looking for forgiveness from a stone
When it’s time to live and let die
And you can’t get another try
Something inside this heart has died,you’re in ruins

One, 21 Guns
Lay down your arms
Give up the fight
One, 21 Guns
Throw up your arms into the sky
One, 21 Guns
Lay down your arms
Give up the fight
One, 21 Guns
Throw up your arms into the sky

You and I

Leave a Reply

 
