Signpostings

Relationships in a World of Individualism

  • rWorld

    The rWorld is about more than Dale Kuehne's book Sex and the iWorld.
    The rWorld is a New England based, non-profit (in formation), that is composed of a growing number of people and organizations from many faith and ideological backgrounds worldwide. We believe that much of the fulfillment for which women and men are looking can be found by enhancing the quality of our relationships. While the individual freedom we enjoy in the West is a gift, the love and intimacy for which humans yearn will not be found in self-serving materialism or hedonism, but in a variety of healthy relationships.

    Contact us if you'd like get involved:
    scr.im/rwld

  • Dale Kuehne

    Sex & the iWorld

    Professor of Politics and The Richard L. Bready Chair for Ethics, Economics, and the Common Good at Saint Anselm College, Manchester, NH.

    In this blog I'm highlighting signposts of the world in which we presently reside as a means of helping promote a civil, and meaningful dialogue about what kind of world in which we wish to live. I am particularly interested in exploring how might we reconcile the individual good and the common good, and where reconciliation isn’t possible, which should take precedence and why.

    I also blog at Sharewik.com

    [Content Caution]

Why Do Christians do Stupid Things?

Posted by Dale Kuehne on February 27, 2012

A students recently asked my “Why are Christians so stupid?” You can read all about it at my latest sharewik.com blog:

http://www.sharewik.com/blogs/1619829

Night lift up the shades
let in the brilliant light of morning
but steady there now
for I am weak and starving for mercy
sleep has left me alone
to carry the weight of unravelling where we went wrong
it’s all I can do to hang on
to keep me from falling
into old familiar shoes

How stupid could I be
A simpleton could see
That you’re no good for me
But you’re the only one I see

Love has made me a fool
it set me on fire and watched as I floundered
unable to speak
except to cry out and wait for your answer
but you come around in your time
speaking of fabulous places
create an oasis
dries up as soon as you’re gone
you leave me here burning
in this desert without you

How stupid could I be
A simpleton could see
That you’re no good for me
But you’re the only one I see

Everything changes everything falls apart
I can’t stand to feel myself losing control
In the depth of my senses I know

How stupid could I be
A simpleton could see
That you’re no good for me
But you’re the only one I see


Stupid by Sarah McLachlan from Afterglow (2003)

Leave a Reply

 
