Signpostings

Relationships in a World of Individualism

  • rWorld

    The rWorld is about more than Dale Kuehne's book Sex and the iWorld.
    The rWorld is a New England based, non-profit (in formation), that is composed of a growing number of people and organizations from many faith and ideological backgrounds worldwide. We believe that much of the fulfillment for which women and men are looking can be found by enhancing the quality of our relationships. While the individual freedom we enjoy in the West is a gift, the love and intimacy for which humans yearn will not be found in self-serving materialism or hedonism, but in a variety of healthy relationships.

    Contact us if you'd like get involved:
    scr.im/rwld

  • Dale Kuehne

    Sex & the iWorld

    Professor of Politics and The Richard L. Bready Chair for Ethics, Economics, and the Common Good at Saint Anselm College, Manchester, NH.

    In this blog I'm highlighting signposts of the world in which we presently reside as a means of helping promote a civil, and meaningful dialogue about what kind of world in which we wish to live. I am particularly interested in exploring how might we reconcile the individual good and the common good, and where reconciliation isn’t possible, which should take precedence and why.

    I also blog at Sharewik.com

    [Content Caution]

Emmanuel Covenant Church Commencement Message (9/19/11)

Posted by Dale Kuehne on September 23, 2011

Dear Emmanuel Covenant Church Family and Friends,

Over the last 10 years you, the people of Emmanuel Covenant, have encouraged and instructed me profoundly. You have walked with me when I was strong and when I was weak. When I did not know how to lead, the Holy Spirit inspired you in leadership. God has blessed me in ways I never imagined. I came wondering if I could ever find God in a church. I am thrilled that in Emmanuel I found what I was looking for.

My prayer ever since I came to Emmanuel is that the congregation would grow to the point where it would need more than me to bring it forward, and God has let me know in a variety of ways that that time has arrived. To become the vital congregation that God wishes to bless Nashua and the surrounding region requires more leadership and involvement than I can provide. I’ve been aware that we were approaching this point, and there is no doubt in my mind and heart, that it is time for me to step down, and allow God to write the next chapter in the history of Emmanuel through you and those to come. Consequently, I am writing to let you know that I have decided to resign as Pastor of Emmanuel Covenant Church as of October 9, 2011.

I am not leaving Emmanuel to pastor elsewhere. I believe God is asking me to continue teaching at Saint Anselm. I believe he is also asking me to devote myself fully to writing my next book and continue to speak locally, nationally, and internationally on how we have come to live in an iWorld and help people to know how to live in a world based on loving God, self, and neighbor.

I realize at such a time of transition, we will all experience the full range of emotions and concerns.

I am.

But I am deeply convinced that God builds His church. He has grown this congregation (and each of us) in ways none of us could have imagined 10 years ago, and he will continue to do so.

The Kuehne Family is not walking away from Emmanuel. Rachel will continue to worship at Emmanuel in the days to come.

The leadership of Emmanuel is not walking away, indeed they are already in prayer and work toward discerning God’s leading.

The East Coast Conference is not walking away from Emmanuel, indeed our Superintendent Howard Burgoyne is already at work to help shepherd the congregation through the transition to the installation of our next pastor.

I love you all so much, I will never stop praying for you, and I suspect that in God’s providence we will never become strangers to each other.

Indeed one of the greatest signs of my own spiritual growth is that I cannot stop loving you. Deeply. 3 years ago I could have walked away without much emotional grief. Not today. I love the church and each one of you with a depth I never knew existed. I am experiencing the full array of emotions.

What a gift God and you have given to me these past 10 years, and especially the past 3.

This is a new chapter for all of us. Please know that each of you are in a special place in my heart, and my heart will always be open to you.

I thank you and God for the gift of each of you.

In Christ and with much love,

Pastor Dale

Are you down to your last ray of hope
Well they say that’s the moment things turn around
Don’t you give up the fight you can cope
You can be so amazingly strong
And you can’t let go
You have come so far

And I know that it’s been rough
But your patience has to pay
And it can’t be soon enough
And if I could have my way
I would change your world
I’d change it right away

Are you down to your last drop of love
Even so you should give it away
Let it sail with your dreams to the sun
And return to you laden with promise
And you can’t let go
I won’t let you fall

And I know that it’s been rough
But your patience has to pay
And it can’t be soon enough
And if I could have my way
I would change your world
I’d change it right away
And you’re tired of chasing love

‘Cos it never seems to stay

And it can’t be soon enough
And if I could have my way
I would change your world
I’d change it right away

Are you down to your last weary smile
So put it on now, and wear it with dignity
It’s time to walk one more mile
Very soon there are going to be changes

And I know that it’s been rough
But your patience has to pay
And it can’t be soon enough
And if I could have my way

Yes I know that it’s been rough
But your patience has to pay
And it can’t be soon enough
And if I could have my way
I would change your world
Change it right away
I would change your world
There would not be a delay
I would change your world
I’d change it right away

Change Your World by Martyn Joseph

One Response to “Emmanuel Covenant Church Commencement Message (9/19/11)”

  1. Christine said

    I will never forget your first sermon at Emmanuel. We were different, you knew it; you were different, we knew it. Thank you, Dale, from the bottom of my heart, and it is true: “…in God’s providence we will never become strangers to each other.”

Leave a Reply

 
