Signpostings

Relationships in a World of Individualism

  • rWorld

    The rWorld is about more than Dale Kuehne's book Sex and the iWorld.
    The rWorld is a New England based, non-profit (in formation), that is composed of a growing number of people and organizations from many faith and ideological backgrounds worldwide. We believe that much of the fulfillment for which women and men are looking can be found by enhancing the quality of our relationships. While the individual freedom we enjoy in the West is a gift, the love and intimacy for which humans yearn will not be found in self-serving materialism or hedonism, but in a variety of healthy relationships.

    Contact us if you'd like get involved:
    scr.im/rwld

  • Dale Kuehne

    Sex & the iWorld

    Professor of Politics and The Richard L. Bready Chair for Ethics, Economics, and the Common Good at Saint Anselm College, Manchester, NH.

    In this blog I'm highlighting signposts of the world in which we presently reside as a means of helping promote a civil, and meaningful dialogue about what kind of world in which we wish to live. I am particularly interested in exploring how might we reconcile the individual good and the common good, and where reconciliation isn’t possible, which should take precedence and why.

    I also blog at Sharewik.com

    [Content Caution]

Hope and Marriage

Posted by Dale Kuehne on May 23, 2011

If you are reading this message, the apocalypse is not yet upon us.

What’s better is that there are signs of hope for the future.

http://mobile.washingtonpost.com/rss.jsp?rssid=615&item=http%3a%2f%2fwww.washingtonpost.com%2flocal%2fnumber-of-long-lasting-marriages-in-us-has-risen-census-bureau-reports%2f2011%2f05%2f18%2fAFO8dW6G_mobile.mobile&cid=591&spf=1

Is love so fragile…
And the heart so hollow
Shatter with words…
Impossible to follow
You’re saying I’m fragile… I try not to be
I search only… for something I can’t see

I have my own life… and I am stronger
Than you know
But I carry this feeling
When you walked into my house
That you won’t be walking out the door
Still I carry this feeling
When you walked into my house
That you won’t be walking out the door

Lovers forever… face to face
My city or mountains
Stay with me stay
I need you to love me
I need you today
Give to me your leather…
Take from me… my lace

You in the moonlight
With your sleepy eyes
Could you ever love a man like me
And you were right
When I walked into your house
I knew I’d never want to leave
Sometimes I’m a strong man
Sometimes cold and scared
And sometimes I cry
But that time I saw you
I knew with you to light my nights
Somehow I’d get by
First time I saw you
I knew with you to light my nights
Somehow I would get by

Lovers forever… face to face
My city or mountains
Stay with me stay
I need you to love me
I need you today
Give to me your leather…
Take from me… my lace

Lovers forever… face to face
My city or mountains
Stay with me stay
I need you to love me
I need you to stay
Give to me your leather
Take from me… my lace
Take from me… my lace
Take from me… my lace


Leather and Lace by Stevie Nicks from Bella Donna (1981)

Leave a Reply

 
