Signpostings

Relationships in a World of Individualism

  • rWorld

    The rWorld is about more than Dale Kuehne's book Sex and the iWorld.
    The rWorld is a New England based, non-profit (in formation), that is composed of a growing number of people and organizations from many faith and ideological backgrounds worldwide. We believe that much of the fulfillment for which women and men are looking can be found by enhancing the quality of our relationships. While the individual freedom we enjoy in the West is a gift, the love and intimacy for which humans yearn will not be found in self-serving materialism or hedonism, but in a variety of healthy relationships.

    Contact us if you'd like get involved:
    scr.im/rwld

  • Dale Kuehne

    Sex & the iWorld

    Professor of Politics and The Richard L. Bready Chair for Ethics, Economics, and the Common Good at Saint Anselm College, Manchester, NH.

    In this blog I'm highlighting signposts of the world in which we presently reside as a means of helping promote a civil, and meaningful dialogue about what kind of world in which we wish to live. I am particularly interested in exploring how might we reconcile the individual good and the common good, and where reconciliation isn’t possible, which should take precedence and why.

    I also blog at Sharewik.com

    [Content Caution]

Dogging It

Posted by dalekuehne on October 8, 2010

Sex in Public

In the history of Sports Illustrated magazine there was only one cover that had no caption; the stupendous image of the 1980 US Ice Hockey team celebrating after clinching the gold medal. No words were needed. This article may be the iSex equivalent, but without the photographs. (For those of you who tell me that Signpostings presents a skewed view of reality, I will only say that this article is from the New York Times. It may not be Signpostings that is skewed.)

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/10/08/world/europe/08puttenham.html?scp=1&sq=dogging&st=cse

Hello?
Is there anybody in there?
Just nod if you can hear me.
Is there anyone at home?
Come on, now,
I hear you’re feeling down.
Well I can ease your pain
Get you on your feet again.
Relax.
I’ll need some information first.
Just the basic facts
Can you show me where it hurts?

There is no pain you are receding
A distant ship, smoke on the horizon.
You are only coming through in waves.
Your lips move but I can’t hear what you’re saying.
When I was a child I had a fever
My hands felt just like two balloons.
Now I’ve got that feeling once again
I can’t explain you would not understand
This is not how I am.
I have become comfortably numb.

I have become comfortably numb.

O. K.
Just a little pin prick.
There’ll be no more aaaaaaaaah!
But you may feel a little sick.
Can you stand up?
I do believe its working good.
That’ll keep you going through the show
Come on it’s time to go.

There is no pain you are receding
A distant ship, smoke on the horizon.
You are only coming through in waves.
Your lips move but I can’t hear what you’re saying.
When I was a child
I caught a fleeting glimpse
Out of the corner of my eye
I turned to look but it was gone
I cannot put my finger on it now
The child is grown,
The dream is gone.
I have become comfortably numb.

Comfortably Numb by Roger Waters and David Gilmour from Pink Floyd’s The Wall (1979)

One Response to “Dogging It”

  1. Wait. The New York Times represents a more general American view of the world?

    I think I see yer problem right there. The NYT presents the perspective of a sizable minority (say about 20%) of the population, and roughly approximates another oh, let’s generously say 30%. http://people-press.org/report/?pageid=949

    Just because journalists say they are objective and are supposed to be doesn’t mean they actually are.

Leave a Reply

 
